Skip to content

EVENTS

If your society or gallery would like a talk or exhibition then just get in touch with Caroline using the Contact page

If you haven’t been to a talk already then do come along to one. The Arts Society welcomes non-members at their lectures for a small fee.

Exhibitions

No exhibitions are currently in the diary. If anyone has contacts in a venue where an exhibition might be suitable then please do get in touch.
 

If your gallery or museum would like to host an exhibition or a display of MacDonald Gill’s work, we would be more than happy to help you with loan of works and curation.

Talks

Most talks are solely about Max –Discovering MacDonald Gill: Architect, Artist and Mapmaker – but I also do a talk on the formative years of his controversial brother Eric Gill: The Early Years, and another entitled Nursery Rhymes of London Town – the first commercial success of Eleanor Farjeon – which is a miscellany of verse and anecdotes about the writer, her family and the book’s illustrator MacDonald Gill. If you’d like more information or if you’d like me to come and talk to your local group do get in touch.

As you’ll see most talks are for The Arts Society. If you’d like to attend I recommend you check with the relevant society for details – a small fee is usual.

Wednesday 15 March 2023 10:30am

Sarum U3a Salisbury

Tuesday 9 May 2023 2:30pm

TAS Bournemouth & East Dorset

Wednesday 7 June 2023 2pm

Chichester Literary Society

Thursday 20 July 2023 7:30pm

TAS Ely. Lecture title: Nursery Rhymes of London Town

Tuesday 12 September 2023 2pm

TAS Southwold

Wednesday 1st May 2pm Chichester Literary Society ‘Nursery Rhymes of London Town’

https://www.chichesterliterarysociety.org/

 

Tuesday 14 May 11am TAS East Grinstead ‘Eric Gill: The Early Years’ 

https://taseg.org.uk/

 

Wednesday 15 May 10.30am TAS Welwyn Garden ‘Discovering MacDonald Gill’ 

https://theartssociety.org/welwyn-garden

 

Monday 20th May  2.15 pm TAS Wimborne & Blandford ‘Eric Gill: The Early Years’  

https://theartssocietywandb.org.uk/

 

Tuesday 4th June 10.30am and 2.15pm TAS Test Valley ‘Discovering MacDonald Gill’

https://www.theartssocietytestvalley.org.uk/

 

Tuesday 18 June 10.45am TAS Hull & East Riding ‘Discovering MacDonald Gill’

https://theartssocietyhullandeastriding.org.uk/

 

Wednesday 17 July 8pm TAS Harpenden Evening ‘Nursery Rhymes of London Town’

https://www.tasha.org.uk/

 

Wednesday 14 August 2pm TAS Hillingdon ‘Nursery Rhymes of London Town’

https://theartssociety.org/hillingdon

 

Thursday 5 September 1.45pm TAS Gainsborough & District  ‘The Gill Brothers’

https://e-voice.org.uk/gdfas/

 

Wednesday 11 September 2.30 TAS Egerton ‘Discovering MacDonald Gill’

https://www.theartssocietyegerton.org.uk/

 

Thursday 26th September 11.00am TAS Faversham ‘Discovering MacDonald Gill’

https://www.theartssocietyfaversham.org.uk/

 

Wednesday 16th October 10.30am U3A Sarum ‘Nursery Rhymes of London Town’

https://u3asites.org.uk/sarum/home

 

Wednesday 11th December 2.00pm TAS Bookham ‘Nursery Rhymes of London Town

https://theartssocietybookham.org.uk/

The MacDonaldGill Biography

A few copies of MacDonald Gill: Charting a Life are still available. Contact Caroline by email or via the contact form.

 

Past Events

Subscribe to our newsletter

Don't miss new updates on your email